Sad News in Springfield

bartkaratekidputter

In 1990, when Alf Clausen was hired to be the new composer for THE SIMPSONS, he told the producers that he would be unavailable for about ten days shortly after his new gig started. It was a previous commitment that he couldn’t change. Everyone was willing to work around the schedule hiccup and a composer was hired to fill in for the one episode that Alf would miss.

Ray Colcord came in, was a wonderful, easy-going fella to work with, and delivered a wonderful score to what is now considered one of the classic episodes in our history, DEAD PUTTING SOCIETY.

Ray passed away a couple of days ago after a four-year battle with pancreatic cancer.

Ray worked on only the one episode, and it became a running joke between him and Alf whenever they would run into each other at some musician function for ASCAP or The Society of Composers and Arrangers that Ray would greet Alf by saying, “Hi Alf! You think you could take another week off sometime soon?”

homerlawnmowerindrag

Our business being what it is, with the crazy, hectic schedules, and not being able to be in two or three places at the same time, I hadn’t seen nor worked with Ray since that session way back in 1990. But I do remember that we got along really well, that he was a gentle and very pleasant man to work with, and I’m sad that there will be a little less of his spirit and music in the world.

Click here to read the very nice tribute given to Ray by his longtime friend and colleague, composer Dan Foliart.

1 thought on “Sad News in Springfield

  1. That is such sad news! I love that episode ❤😢.
    Your journey and role in The Simpsons is inspiring! I love reading this blog.
    I would really like to interview you for my blog. So please could you follow me on twitter so I can DM you questions and you can DM me back answers. Is that okay? Username: thathappytapper
    Please go and follow 😁 – thank you!

Leave a comment