The 500th Episode Celebration

It was fun, it was LOUD, it was star-studded, it was a very nice way to celebrate working on a part of television history for the past 8,118 days.

Below you’ll find photos with commentary and videos that, I hope, will give you some small feeling of what is was like to be there. Click on any photo to see a larger version.

I’ve been asked “what’s next” for the blog now that the 500th episode is upon us. Well, for now, I’m enjoying writing and sharing and there seems to be a growing audience. I’ll keep it up through the rest of season 23 and then I’ll decide what to do after that. I’d be glad to hear your thoughts on the subject. Tell me specifically what you’d like to hear more (or less) about in future posts.

12 thoughts on “The 500th Episode Celebration

    • MMMMMmmmmmmm, donuts! All the food was fabulous. A few days before the party, my kids asked if dinner would be served or should they eat before going? I said I didn’t know what would be served, but that there would be food. I told them that if there was a possibility that they might not like what was served, they should eat beforehand so as not to starve. As soon as we walked in the door, servers presented us with mini burgers, mini hotdogs, and mini tacos – essentially Homer finger-food. My future son-in-law turned to me and sarcastically said, “And you thought we might not enjoy the food!” Ha!

  1. Congratulations! That’s a huge accomplishment. It’s a kick for me to see some of the people behind the voices. I’ve known about some of the bigger voices, but- for instance- that’s the first time I’ve ever seen the person behind Milhouse.

    As someone who has just discovered this place, I’m greedy and would hope you keep going. It’s really great to get the perspective that you provide and the insights on the machinations of the show. If nothing else, because of the popularity of the show, you’re in a unique position to bring greater recognition to the people behind the show.

  2. Hey man, I love checking this blog on a regular basis to see if it’s updated. I really appreciate someone from the show giving some insides and sharing some thoughts on the process of the show, especially since you’ve been there since the start. You always deliver with the great pictures and video’s.
    It’s also intriguing to hear from a corner of the show that gets easily overlooked, namely the music part!

    Anyway, I hope you can keep it up for years to come. I’ll keep being fascinated. Cheers!

  3. Well, I love this blog and the insight it gives us into the work you do for the show, as well as the information you can give. I would love it if you decided to carry it on until the end of the show.

    What you could do, I guess, especially in the Summer period when no new episodes are airing, it go over older episodes and some of the work you put into them. Especially big musical episodes (“Stark Raving Dad” comes to mind).

    If you decide to stop the blog after the end of season 23, it will be a sad loss to the online Simpsons community.

Leave a Reply

